Que me quiten lo bailado!!…

I learned a wonderfully expressive castellano phrase from this 1944 ad for one of Buenos Aires's hippest BCGs. (A BCG is a Baile Con Grabaciones, a dance with recordings rather than a live orchestra.)

Que-me-quiten

The Spanish text says: QUE ME QUITEN LO BAILADO!!… TOTAL… YA ESTUVE EN "SURCOS DEL DISCO" EN VILLA SAHORES

In English: "They can't take away what I've danced!!… (Or more generally, "They can't take away the fun I've had!") After all… I was at "Surcos del Disco" at Villa Sahores."

Gustavo Beneczery Sabá tells me that the Saturday night dances at Club Villa Sahores attracted many of the best dancers in the city, including one named Finito. The club was in the Montecastro neighborhood, a small barrio, but very important to the development of tango dance.

Next time things aren't going your way, just say it loud: QUE ME QUITEN LO BAILADO!!…

* BCG: (Baile Con Grabaciones, a dance with recordings rather than live orchestras.)

1 thought on “Que me quiten lo bailado!!…

  1. Mikel

    Hello Michael,
    doesn’t that feel like a little hint to translate the tango with the same title? 😉
    It has been recorded by D’Arienzo, Julio Soza, Canaro and Tanturi …
    Thanks for all your translating efforts!
    Saludos desde el mare baltico,
    Mikel

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment